Art Basel Hong Kong: Perspectives

Hong Kong
March 20 - 25, 2020


VIP Preview:
March 18 (6 PM HKT / 11 AM CET / 6 AM EST) to March 20 (6 PM HKT / 11 AM CET / 6 AM EST)


Public Days:
March 20 (6 PM HKT / 11 AM CET / 6 AM EST) to March 25 (6 PM HKT / 11 AM CET / 6 AM EST)

 

#ArtBaselOVR

artbasel.com/viewing-rooms

Art Basel Hong Kong: Perspectives

The gallery’s presentation for the Art Basel Online Viewing Room, Perspectives, draws from the best of works by artists represented by Lévy Gorvy, including Kazuo Shiraga, Pierre Soulages, Pat Steir, and Tu Hongtao. Highlights include 130 x 130 cm, 10 octobre 2019, a new canvas from Soulages’s celebrated Outrenoir series, through which he explores the aesthetic potential of black. Coinciding with his centennial year, the Musée du Louvre, Paris, recently dedicated a solo survey exhibition to Soulages. A seminal painting by Shiraga represents the accomplishments of this key member of the postwar Japanese Gutai movement. Painted by the artist with his feet while he was suspended from the ceiling by a rope, Untitled (1962) actively fuses matter and energy, components central to Gutai’s philosophy. Tu Hongtao ’s Little Forest (2017–19) is a lushly colored oil painting that melds landscape and gestural abstraction, expressively synthesizing Western artistic traditions with those of classical Chinese painting and calligraphy. A solo exhibition of Tu Hongtao’s work starts 25 March at our Hong Kong gallery and will be followed by an exhibition of new works in our London space in November.

Click here to register for the Art Basel Hong Kong Online Viewing Rooms. The works will be available on Lévy Gorvy's Online Viewing Room simultaneously.

READ MORE

Selected Works

1/
  • Tu Hongtao painting

    Tu Hongtao
    Little Forest, 2017–19
    Oil on canvas
    51 3/16 x 39 3/8 inches (130 x 100 cm)
    © Tu Hongtao

    Enquire
  • Painting by Pierre Soulages

    Pierre Soulages
    Peinture, 130 x 130 cm, 10 octobre 2019, 2019
    Acrylic on canvas
    51 3/16 x 51 3/16 inches (130 x 130 cm)
    © Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/ADAGP, Paris

    Enquire
  • Pat Steir painting

    Pat Steir
    Tyne Panorama 1, 1990
    Oil on canvas
    132 x 144 inches (335.3 x 365.8 cm)
    © Pat Steir

    Enquire
  • Kazuo Shiraga oil painting

    Kazuo Shiraga
    Untitled, 1962
    Oil on canvas
    35 x 45 5/8 inches (89 x 116 cm)

    Enquire

Selected Press

The Art Newspaper China | Online sales, the key increasing point of the future of art market

April 1, 2020

Danqing Li quoted in article on the influence of Art Basel Hong Kong's online viewing room on gallery …

Hyperallergic | What It’s Like to Visit Virtual Galleries as an Art Critic

March 25, 2020

Lévy Gorvy's Art Basel “viewing rooms” have a very clever and dynamic presentation. They take the …

More Information

Art Fairs